EXETER INTERNATIONAL UNDERGRADUATE SURGICAL CONFERENCE



Programme
20th February 2021
10am - 5:40pm



Conference Programme

	Main Stage 1	Main Stage 2	Description
9:30-10:00	Registration		
10:00-10:15	Welcome*		
10:15-10:55	Urology/Robotics Mr John McGrath	Neurosurgery Mr Alistair Jenkins	Lecture 1
10:55-11:00	Bre		
11:00-11:40	Cardiothoracic Surgery Mr Kamran Baig	Transplant Surgery Prof Stephen J Wigmore	Lecture 2
11:40-11:45	ASIT presentation*		
11:45-12:25	Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery Prof Vikram S Devaraj	ENT Surgery Professor B Nirmal Kumar	Lecture 3
12:25-13:15	Lunch and poster presentations		
13:15-13:55	Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery Mr Austen Smith	Paediatric Surgery Miss Kate Cross	Lecture 4
13:55-14:00	Break		

14:00-14:40	General Surgery Miss Gill Tierney	Trauma & Orthopaedics Mr James Tomlinson	Lecture 5
14:40-14:45	Break and prepare for workshops		
14:45-15:30	Diversity in Surgery Ms Rantimi Ayodele	Global Surgery Prof Kokila Lakhoo	Workshop 1
15:30-15:35	Break		
15:35-16:20	Training abroad/pathway: US Miss Shilpa Murthy	Women in Surgery Miss Scarlett McNally Prof Farah Bhatti	Workshop 2
16:20-16:25	Break		
16:25-17:10	Portfolio Building Mrs Katie Chan Miss Esther Platt	Training abroad/pathway: UK Mrs Tricia Campbell	Workshop 3
17:10-17:30	The Future of Surgery* Prof Farah Bhatti Miss Scarlett McNally		Lecture 6
17:30-17:40	Awards and closing remarks*		

^{*}Single sessions during a time slot will be delivered on the Main Stage 1

Meet the Committee



Conference Lead Miss Alexandra Sebastiao



Co-President Mr Preston Tsao



Co-PresidentMr Eamon Rawlins



TreasurerMr Ethan Clarke



Conference Secretary Miss Viktorija Kaminskaite



Graphics Officer Mr Pavel Loginovic



Advertising & PR Officer
Miss Rhiannon Eastwood



Advertising & PR Officer
Miss Niamh Pang



Advertising & PR Officer
Miss Charlie Emsden



Speaker & Workshop OfficerMiss Hannah Redpath



Speaker & Workshop OfficerMiss Aharabie Jeyabavan





Speaker & Workshop Officer Miss Aimée Douglas

EIUSC Speakers

Neurosurgery

Mr Alistair Jenkins, MB ChB, MD, FRCS
Consultant Neurosurgeon
President of the Society of British
Neurological Surgeons
Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer



Cardiothoracic Surgery

Mr Kamran Baig, MBBS, MD, FRCS
Consultant Cardiac Surgeon
NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow
Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer
Kings College London



General Surgery

Miss Gill Tierney, FRCS, DM
General and Coloproctology Consultant
Surgeon
Honorary Assistant Professor
Vice-President Association of Surgeons of

Great Britain and Ireland



ENT Surgery

Prof B Nirmal Kumar, MPhil, FRCS, FAcadMEd

Consultant Otolaryngologist-Head & Neck
Surgeon
President of the ENT UK



Urology/Robotic Surgery

Mr John McGrath, BMedSci, BMBS, FRCS
Consultant Urologist
Clinical Director for Acute Surgery
Royal Devon & Exeter NHS Trust



Transplant Surgery

Prof Stephen J Wigmore, MBBS, FRCS, MD, FRCP, FRSE

Regius Chair of Clinical Surgery
Head of Department of Surgery
Honorary Consultant Surgeon
University of Edinburgh



Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery

Mr James Tomlinson, MA, MB ChB,
MEd, FRCS, FFSTEd

Consultant Spinal Surgeon

Consultant Spinal Surgeon Sheffield Teaching Hospitals



Paediatric Surgery

Miss Kate Cross, BSc Med (Hons), FRACS
Consultant Neonatal and Paediatric Surgeon
Speciality Lead for Department of Specialist
Neonatal and Paediatric Surgery



Global Surgery

Prof Kokila Lakhoo, FRCS, FCS(SA), FCS(PAED), MRCPCH

President of Global Initiative for Children's
Surgery
University of Oxford



Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Prof Vikram S Devaraj, MB ChB, FRCS,
FRCS(Plast), PG Dip ClinEd, SFHEA
Consultant Plastic Reconstructive, Hand &
Aesthetic Surgeon
Associate Professor & Clinical Lead for
Anatomy



Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Mr Austen Smith, MB ChB, FDSRCSEd
Consultant Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeon
Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer
Vice President of the British Association of
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeons



Diversity in Surgery

Ms Rantimi Ayodele, MBBS, MSc,
DLSHTM, MD, FRCS (Tr&Orth)
Consultant Paediatric Trauma and
Orthopaedic Surgeon
Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS
Trust



UK Surgical Pathway

Mrs Tricia Campbell, MB BS, MRCS

President British Orthopaedic Trainees'

Association (BOTA)

Leadership Fellow

Health Education England North East



US Surgical Pathway

Ms Shilpa S. Murthy, MD, MPH
John Goligher Colorectal Fellow
St. James University Hospital
Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust



Portfolio Building

Mrs Katie Chan, BSc, MBBS, MRCS
ST6 Urology Specialist Trainee
University Hospitals Plymouth



Ms Esther Platt, MA(oxon), MBBS, FRCS, DTM&H

Speciality Registrar in General Surgery Imperial College London



Women in Surgery

Mrs Scarlett McNally, BSc, MB BCh,
FRCS(Tr&Orth), MA, MBA, FAcadMEd
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
Council Member, Royal College of
Surgeons of England



Professor Farah Bhatti, OBE
Consultant Cardiac Surgeon
Council Member, Royal College of
Surgeons of England



Our Sponsors

Supported by



Royal College of Surgeons of England







WESLEYAN

we are all about you

